1. Hey, Guest,

Do you think you're halfway handy at making logo? If so, we want to hear from you. Please take a look at this thread to consider taking part in a design contest for our affiliated businesses.

-The Directors

Dismiss Notice

What If: Pre-WWII British had a glance into the future of German Panzers?

Discussion in 'History & Military Discussion' started by HeavyArmor, Jan 1, 2017.

1. HeavyArmor

HeavyArmor Trust me, I'm an Engineer

What if, say in 1934, the British Army had received a mysterious shipment of goods from a Mysterious Benefactor.......

In that shipment includes:

22 × Panzerkampfwagen V Panther Ausf. G
    22 × Panzerkampfwagen Tiger Ausf. B
    one full load of Pzgr. 39/42 APCBC-HE
    one full load of PzGr 39/43 APCBC-HE

All of these vehicles from the period of the top of their built quality and reliability in real-life WWII.

Only the highest command echelon of the British Army and Government officials knew of this shipment.

How would this affect WWII-era British armored fighting vehicle development, and that of the other allied forces?

2. HMS Sophia

HMS Sophia Trans Skate Witch

I think the cruiser/infantry tank divide gets worse. Aside from incidental tech, the main advantage is shells and engines. Infantry tanks would get heavier, cruiser tankers would get faster. And with better guns.

• Like Like x 3
    • Insightful Insightful x 1
  3. willyvereb

willyvereb Migratory Thinker

Given how memetically overengineered these tanks are they might go straight to the scrap heap as the British have no need for two unreliable heavy tank types like these.
    They might learn some and with 20+ I suppose a few can be used for target tests but that's about it.
    The most interesting part IMO would be when the Brits realize they somehow got Tiger tanks from the future and break down most of the myth surrounding them.

4. Guessmyname

Guessmyname Tea-Powered Biscuit-Eater Commission Artist